Venturer Scout Award Scheme

The Venturer Scout Award Scheme is designed to widen Venturer's interests and knowledge, while challenging them at the same time. It assists in planning a balanced program based on the Aims and Method of Scouting. For full details about Venturer Award Scheme requirements, talk to your Venturer Leader. 

The Award Scheme is not compulsory for Venturer Scouts, but those who do attempt it find they have a lot of fun while discovering new things.

There are four main components to the Award Scheme. These consist of the Venturing Skills Award, the Venturer Award, the Endeavour Award and the Queen’s Scout Award. In addition, Venturers may earn a number of special badges depending on their interests.


The Venturer Scout Award Scheme has four stages:

 The Venturing Skills Award

The Venturing Skills Award is intended to provide the basic skills which will enable you to be safe and comfortable outdoors. This also is to help you to get to know your Unit. This will allow you to get started on many Unit activities and should normally be gained in the first two months.

The Venturer Award


The Venturer Award is gained by participation and is a great way for the individual Venturer Scout to achieve an Award based on personal best and challenge through activity areas. There are 13 activity areas, five of which must be completed as well as any other two. This is a step toward achieving the Endeavour and Queen's Scout Awards.


Endeavour Award



The Endeavour Award allows you to pursue an activity area of your choice from the Venturer and Queen’s Scout Awards, and take your knowledge to a higher level of expertise. You need to undertake significant research, effort and application for a period of at least 50 hours beyond the level required for the Queen’s Scout Award. You do not need to have gained the Queen’s Scout Award to attain the Endeavour Award, although you may complete both if you wish. Endeavour Award candidates may also complete a VET course and receive a Statement of Attainment in any Adventurous Activity Area.

Queen's Scout Award



The Queen’s Scout Award is highly regarded in the community at large and the Royal Certificate is presented to the Venturer Scout by a representative of the Queen. The requirements are designed to be inspiring and challenging and to take you to a much higher and demanding level. In some States and Territories, your Queen’s Scout Award could be registered on your School Exit Certificate. To achieve the ultimate in Venturing, complete all 13 Venturer Award activity areas and any four at Queen Scout Level (1 per area).


 Rover Link Badge

The Rover Link Badge links Venturer Scouts to the Rover Section and is the next step towards the summit of the Scouting journey. Completion of this badge prepares the Venturer Scout for advancement to a Rover Crew. To earn this badge, formal contact must be made with a Rover Crew prior to joining one and Rover activities must be participated in with at least one being an overnight activity.